A Blend of the Old and the New

European Chamber Annual General Meeting

The European Chamber held elections for our Executive Committee and local chapter boards from 13th April to 28th May 2021.


The elections for the European Chamber’s president, three vice presidents and treasurer took place during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Beijing on 27th May.

We are pleased to announce that Jörg Wuttke was confirmed as president, with no other candidates for the role. He will chair the Executive Committee, which is responsible for providing strategic direction for the Chamber and representing our more than 1,700 member companies. Jörg is continuing his third stint as president, and has so far spent a total of eight years in the role; from 2007 to 2010, 2014 to 2017, and 2019 to now.

The three elected vice presidents—Bruno Weill, Carlo D’Andrea and Guido Giacconi—and a treasurer, Marko Tulus, will also be part of the Chamber’s Executive Committee.

In the weeks leading up to the AGM in Beijing, local board elections were also held in the European Chamber’s six other chapters across China (see opposite page). In their respective capacities as the elected chairs of the Shanghai, South China and Southwest China chapters, Bettina Schoen-Behanzin, Klaus Zenkel and Massimo Bagnasco, have also been appointed as vice presidents of the Executive Committee. Charlotte Roule has also been invited to remain as a board member until she leaves China later this year.

The States Representatives were selected by the Supervisory Board on 28th May, after presentations were given by seven potential candidates.


Jörg Wuttke, BASF

Vice Presidents

Carlo D’Andrea, D’Andrea & Partners

Guido Giacconi, In3act

Bruno Weill, BNP Paribas


Marko Tulus, Sandvik

States’ Representatives

Matthias Goebel, Lufthansa

Peter Ling-Vannerus, SEB

Renata Pavlov, Fincantieri


The Nanjing Chapter board elections took place on 15th April, with the following results:


Andreas Risch, Fette Compacting (China) Co Ltd

Vice Chair:

Bernhard Weber, Baden-Wuerttemberg International Economic and Scientific Cooperation (Nanjing)

Board Members

Sofie Gielen, Epiroc Trading Co Ltd

Frank Redecker, REACH Talent Consulting (Xuzhou) Co Ltd

Jianhua Shan, BASF-YPC Co Ltd


The local board elections for the Shanghai Chapter took place on 11th May 2021, with the following taking the seats available:


Bettina Schoen-Behanzin, Freudenberg Group

Vice Chairs

Pius S. Hornstein, Sanofi China

Francis Liekens, Atlas Copco

Board Members

Roberto Donà, International Business School Suzhou, Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University

Jens Ewert, Deloitte

Allan Gabor, Merck

Holly Lei, Covestro Polymers (China)


The Shenyang Chapter board elections took place on 13th April 2021, returning the following candidates:

Vice Chair

Harald Kumpfert, Dezhong Green City

Board Members

Franz Decker, BMW Brilliance Automotive

Stephane Gonnetand, Dalian ODC Marine Manufacture Co Ltd

Erich Kaiserseder, Conrad Shenyang

South China

The local board elections for the South China Chapter took place in Guangzhou on 28th April, when the following candidates were returned:


Klaus Zenkel, Imedco Technology (Shenzhen) Co Ltd

Vice Chairs

Fabian Blake, AMS Products Assembly (Foshan) Co Ltd

George Lau, TÜV Rheinland (Guangdong) Co Ltd

Board Members

Blandine Cressard, Residence G Shenzhen

Alessandro Fiorito, Autoneum Nittoku Guangzhou

Gianluca Giorgi, ES Automation Consulting

Joanna Ye, Mazars Guangzhou

Southwest China

The Southwest China Chapter held its AGM on 8th April 2021, and the following board members were elected at the meeting:


Massimo Bagnasco, Progetto CMR (Beijing) Architectural Design Consultants

Vice Chair

Paul Sives, Proton Products Chengdu Ltd

Vice Chair and Chongqing Representative

Dominik Widmer, SinoSwiss Holding

Board Members

Xavier Arnaud, ADEN Group

Jennifer Birdsong, Chengdu International School

Ali Sheikh, Vista

Dieter Vanonckelen, Md Business Management (Chengdu)


Taking place on 22nd April 2021, the local board elections for the Tiianjin Chapter saw a record-breaking nine candidates competing for five positions. Members chose the following:


Christoph Schrempp, Airbus (Tianjin) Delivery Centre

Vice Chair

Julian Jeffrey, Wellington International School

Board Members

Jürgen Hasenpusch, Volkswagen

Florian Thomas Mack, Airbus (Tianjin) Final Assembly

Zhu Xuejun, Leybold Vacuum (Tianjin) International Trade Co Ltd